Log In | About Us | Contact Us

Part I Biblical Scroll links to Bible 1. Part II Electronic Bible links to Part 2.
The Bible: The Book That Bridges the Millennia

The Books of the TaNaKh

Biblical scrolls

The Hebrew Bible is called the TaNaKh.

The letters T-N-K are an acronym for the three parts of the Bible of Judaism:

  • Torah (tor-AH) -- The Law, also called the Pentateuch (Greek for "five books")
  • Nebiim ( neh-veh-EEM) -- The Prophets
  • Ketubim (keh-tu-VEEM) -- The Writings

Listed below are the books of the Tanakh. Three main "headers" show the three divisions of the book spoken of above. Additionally the Prophets section is subdivided into the Former Prophets and the Latter Prophets. The Latter Prophets also include "The Twelve" (Minor Prophets).

The Torah

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numbers
  • Deuteronomy

The Prophets

The Former Prophets

  • Joshua
  • Judges
  • Samuel
  • Kings

The Latter Prophets

  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Ezekial
  • The Twelve(Minor Prophets)
    • Hosea
    • Joel
    • Amos
    • Obadiah
    • Jonah
    • Micah
    • Nahum
    • Habakkuk
    • Zephaniah
    • Haggai
    • Zecariah
    • Malachi

The Writings

  • Psalms
  • Proverbs
  • Job
  • Song of Solomon
  • Ruth
  • Lamentations
  • Ecclesiastes
  • Esther
  • Daniel
  • Ezra-Nehemiah
  • Chronicles

For Further Study

Chart: Compare the Samaritan, Hebrew Bible and Protestant Old Testament

See Also: Whose Canon? Which Bible?